Annual Meeting

Highlights of the 90th Annual Meeting held on April 17, 2019


President Inge Venus opened the meeting with a presentation of the 90-year history of The Federated Garden Clubs of CT, Inc. starting with the April 30, 1929 date of its formation to the present. Following this presentation, winners of the “Conservation Champion Award” were recognized in both the individual and club categories for their successful creation of either a xeriscape or pollinator garden following the guidelines of the President’s Theme “Plant CT – Be a Conservation Champion.”  Two clubs were recognized for the largest increase in membership and several Presidential Citations were issued.


Federated Garden Clubs of CT, Inc. Officers for the 2019-2021 term were installed by New England Garden Clubs, Inc. Director Susan Hinkel.  Pictured (L-R) are:

  • Recording Secretary Janet Spaulding
  • Second Vice-President Karen Pyskaty
  • First Vice President Polly Brooks
  • NEGC Director Susan Hinkel
  • President Arlene Field
  • Inge Venus

Thanks to Nan Merolla for planning this terrific event
and Long Hill Garden Club for designing the lovely table centerpieces.

Guest Speaker, Michael Derouin, a second-generation florist and Director of Floral Design at McArdle’s Florist and Garden Center of Greenwich, created unique floral designs to inspire us.  The award-winning designer, whose style is described as “Modern Sophistication,” is a member of many industry associations and will share some of his favorite tips and anecdotes.  You may read more about him on his website.