Award Winners

Connecticut Receives New England Awards!

New England Garden Clubs Annual Meeting - October 31, 2017

The Federation, Connecticut garden clubs and individual Connecticut club members were all recognized with awards at the New England Garden Club’s Annual meeting on Halloween in Rhode Island.  This represents the best of all entries from the 6 New England States.  Congratulations to all winners!

  • Virginia F. Thurston Landscape Design Award: Mystic Garden Club
  • Nancy H. Atwell Award: North Haven Garden Club
  • Jeanne Marie Parks Award (Individual): Trish Manfredi
  • Jeanne Marie Parks Award (State): Federated Garden Clubs of  Connecticut for Jane Waugh’s President’s Project
  • Maria J. Nahom Table Design Award: Marilyn Burkhart
  • Yearbook Award Class 1, Under 20 Members: Daytime Gardeners of North Haven

2017 FGCCT Annual Awards Meeting

At the FGCCT 88th Annual Awards Meeting on October 25, 2017,  a total of 179 FGCCT Certificates, that included 41 silver awards; 9 Tribute Awards; 2 scholarships; 5 Special Certificates equivalent to a silver award; one Love-ly Garden Award; and 30 Public Relations awards were presented or announced. A complete list of National, Regional, and FGCCT Awards with more detailed descriptions may be found in the 2017 Awards Booklet, which was distributed at the Awards Meeting and may be found online below. See more photos of scholarship winners on the Scholarship Page and the Love-ly Garden Award on the Gardening Consultants Council Page.

Top FGCCT Award

The Bronze Medal

It is with great enthusiasm that FGCCT President Inge Venus presented the Federation’s highest honor to Dr. Theodore G Andreadis, Director of the Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station at the 2017 FGCCT Awards Meeting.

Top NGC Award

The Award of Excellence

Awarded to the FGCCT at the NCG National Convention for Beyond Beginning  and accepted at the 2017 FGCCT Awards Meeting by Cathy Ritch, who envisioned and implemented the very successful series of design workshops.

Tribute Awards

For Outstanding Individual Contribution

Cindy Golia, North Haven GC: All Around Excellence
Walter and Sally Brocket, North Haven GC and Daytime Gardeners: Youth
Shirley Kiely, Westbrook GC: Civic Development
FGCCT President Inge Venus
Dianne Roberts, Madison GC: Photography
Don Kelsey, Manchester GC: Conservation
Larry Huzi, GC of Orange: Design
Dottie Fox, Kensington GC: Garden Therapy
Vice President Polly Brooks holding Tribute pin for Marla Patterson, Litchfield GC: Landscape Design

Awards by Category Groups

Click on photo for more detail