"Mums the Word" 2018 Award Winners

Top FGCCT Award – The Bronze Medal

The 2018 Bronze Medal, the Federation’s highest award, was presented to Jeffrey Maron, Wickham Park Director, to recognize his lifetime achievements in the fields of landscape design, innovative garden designs for public parks and his successful management and development of public parks. Inge Venus, FGCCT President, presented the award.

Tribute Awards

For Outstanding Individual Contribution

Polly Brooks, Second VP, presenting the Tribute Awards:
All Around Excellence: Josie Schmidt, Town and Country GC of Newtown
Civic Development:  Cheryl Cappiali, Milford GC
Conservation:  Alice Dahms, Suffield GC
Design: Lano Ho, GC of Orange
Garden Therapy:  Martha Soliday and Judi Armstrong, Goshen GC
Horticulture:  Sally Pfeifer, Redding Garden Club
Landscape Design:  Leslie Martino, GC of Woodbridge
Photography:  Ronnie Schoelzel accepting for Catherine Oneglia, Litchfield GC
Youth: Tory Woodruff and Erin Combs, Rowayton Gardeners

Flower Show Awards

Awards by Category Groups

Click on photo for more detail

Awards to Individuals

Scholarship Winner, Jacqueline DeGregorio – Margareta Kotch, Chair

Connecticut Receives New England Awards!

New England Garden Clubs Annual Meeting - October 16, 2018 at The Water's Edge Resort and Spa

The Federation, Connecticut garden clubs and individual Connecticut club members were all recognized with awards at the New England Garden Club’s Annual meeting at The Water’s Edge Resort and Spa in Westbrook, Connecticut.  This represents the best of all entries from the 6 New England States.  Congratulations to all winners!

  • The Cornelia Williamson Watson Award:  The Westport Garden Club
  • The Virginia Kenny/Maureen Colton Award: Wilton Garden Club
  • The Virginia Grandpre Wildlife Gardening Award: Shippan Point Garden Club
  • Excellence in Teamwork Award: Colchester Garden Club
  • The Deanne J. Mozzochi Creative Design Award: MaryEllen Unger
  • The Maureen Colton Award: Cathy Ritch, Long Hill Garden Club
  • The Maria J. Nahom Table Design Award:  Virginia Donovan